Friday, May 8, 2009

Dream Theater: "A Rite of Passage" is HEAVY!

Work! Damn you!

This new video by Dream Theater for the song "A Rite of Passage" is not playing for me, but I'll put it up in hopes it works for you guys. It is Dream Theater after all so we can expect a few things...

1) A five-minute-plus song featuring some heavily layered vocals and a soaring guitar solo from John Petrucci.

2) Some kind of dark sci-fi/fantasy themed video, with possible special effects.

3) A heavy breakdown of some sort, since this is modern Dream Theater we are talking about here.

Lets see if this video starts working and if my predictions are correct...

UPDATE: It turns out that the video does work, you just need to hit pause and let it load properly. I recommend going to the crapper and then coming back and enjoying what is actually a fairly cool/slightly cheesy music video that does contain most of what I predicted above!

If "A Rite of Passage" is any indicator of the heaviness of the album "Black Clouds and Silver Linings" then sign me up! However, it is guaranteed that there will probably be at least one mediocre/lame song on the CD, but I think this song could make up for that.

Besides you can always make a Dream Theater Metal Mix Tape that includes your favorite heavy songs by the band. Imagine...

Randy's Dream Theater Metal Mix Tape
1) "Ytse Jam" ("When Dream and Day Unite")
2) "Pull Me Under" ("Images and Words")
3) "Strange Deja Vu" ("Metropolis Part 2: Scenes From a Memory")
3) "The Glass Prison" ("Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence")
4) "As I Am" ("Thoughts Without Words")
5) "Dark Eternal Night ("Systematic Chaos")
6) "A Rite of Passage" ("Black Clouds and Silver Linings")

That would be a sweet album!

No comments: